Is your WinSXS folder out of bounds?

I am using Win 7, and one fine day, I was wondering where my precious disk space went. And upon analyzing, I found that almost 10 GB were used in a folder call WinSXS under Windows folder.

After hours on Googling, I have found that If you’ve installed Windows 7 SP1 over your existing Windows 7 installation, then you may have a certain folder named “winsxs” in C:\Windows\ that is rather large. You can find detailed explanation of  what this folder contains here:

The Winsxs Folder Explained

Now, how to recover space. Solution to this huge (sizing in GB) problem is simple:

run dism /online /cleanup-image /spsuperseded /hidesp

Run above command in elevated command prompt (right click on Command prompt->Run as administrator).

That’s it.

Now you can store few more movies.🙂

Enjoy!!

Author: ashishtilak

I am happy go lucky kinda person. Always smiling and making people smile. Luv every thing life has to offer. And, I am a software engg. too, working at a manufacturing company. See more about myself in my blogs.

Leave a Reply

